Naples - Day 3

Today, we flew back home to The Netherlands.  This was shot at Naples while we were waiting for the Alibus -- the express bus to the airport.

First, breakfast and leave-taking, then a short walk to the bus stop (which AW insisted yesterday we look for as it would mean saving a metro ride to the train station) for the express bus to the airport, then the actual bus ride to the airport, which wasn't as far as I thought, then we had to hang out in the airport lobby until our gates were announced.  Gates?  Yes, gates, because AW was booked on EasyJet and we had seats on a Transavia flight (daughter company of KLM).

An attempt at a short explanation.  Nan wanted to return home earlier, so I had to cancel our flight from Naples to Athens, as well as our flight from Athens back to AMS, which was supposed to be on 1 August.  AW, though, had no plans to visit Athens again (we'd already been last October, if you recall), so his flight was direct from Naples to Amsterdam.  (Actually, he even had second thoughts about joining us in Naples because of Nan's apathy but also because the garden needed tending, but I convinced him to come because that would otherwise have meant too many cancellations.)  Because Athens was cancelled, I had to book return flights for Nan and myself, but, by then, the EasyJet flight was full.  AW took off at about 14.00 and we got our turn at 16.15.

The wind was so favourable we arrived a full half hour ahead of schedule, and when I phoned AW he'd just been home 10 minutes, even though he'd taken the express train from the airport to Breda.  We took the express train, too, and it took us only about 50 minutes -- fab!

First thing I did was the first load of laundry.  It was so warm I knew it would be dry in the morning and I could do the rest.  Second thing was copying all my files of photographs onto my external drive.  Counted the entire haul and arrived at a total of 3250 shots, excluding the deleted ones, so I had to relieve my hard disc.  AW focused on watering his plants and putting something to munch on the table.  While we were on our way on the train, he'd harvested about 10 tomatoes and made a pan of super yummy tomato soup.  It was truly magnificent!

He'd also bought pizza ... hahahaha!  After where we'd just been, we had to laugh about that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.