Staying Cool, Part 3

Today was due to be the HOTTEST day of the year, so I decided to spend the afternoon at the shopping mall. This is the main department store in the Lexicon - the brand new mall in nearby Bracknell. I’ve driven through Bracknell MANY times but it’s never really been ‘on the map’ as a shopping destination! That has now changed as this new mall, while not huge, is really quite impressive.

It’s actually mostly a very beautiful and interestingly designed ‘outdoor mall’ - so maybe not the best choice when trying to stay in the air conditioning! But I cooled off each time I nipped into the stores. I have to say I was amazed at how many people were eating outside in the hottest part of the day. Crazy!!

I didn’t really shop much - until I found the Danish store ‘Tiger’ (or ‘Flying Tiger’), which I love (See extra photo). So I picked up a few fun gifts there.

By 5pm it had cooled down enough and there was a breeze, so I was able to have dinner, eating outside in the shade, at GBK (Gourmet Burger Kitchen). I’ve never eaten there before and I had a delicious meal. There are so many places to choose to eat, so I will definitely make this a place to visit again! (See extra photos)

Thank you, Bracknell! Who would have thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.