Upward curve

My sciatica is much better today. I'm supposed to check in with the doctor tomorrow, and I think he'll be giving me the all clear, although I will have to take the rest of the course of drugs. It's by no mean perfect, and there's still some weakness in the right leg, but the awful pain in the top of my thigh and buttock area has largely gone.

It was rather pleasant to spend the day around here, rather than trotting off to Redfern and the University. It's a beautiful and characterful area, and we took a morning coffee stroll down to the Marina at Elizabeth Bay, past some very large houses (have added an extra of the Marina with the houses behind), and then back up past the strikingly modernist El Alamein Fountain, which - to my surprise - I discover is as old as me, before returning along Macleay Street, collecting our lunch and dinner from the shops as we went. The weather was glorious. If this is their winter, then I think I wouldn't do too well in their summer. The only way you can tell it's winter, apart from the fact that the temperatures are moderate and it's not humid at all, is by the shortness of the days - only around 10.5 hours of daylight.

After an afternoon of successful pootling on the computer, thinking about a couple of presentations I have to make in the coming weeks, we watched a couple of episodes of Who do you think you are, one of which had provoked an interesting discussion on Facebook. They do manage to find people with interesting family histories. I think I would be a dull subject...

Finally managed to stay up until a reasonable hour. It's been more than 10 days now, and my sleep patterns are still rather messed up (although there have been other reasons, such as the sciatica...).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.