La Casa

La Casa replaces Serrano Manchego (although the property lay empty for more than two years), which I never managed to blip for my #leithwalkshops series, although we ate there several times (with decreasing pleasure, it should be said). I think that part of the reason I never blipped it is that they never bothered, even in summer, with the outside bit, or at least not "nicely" like this new restaurant. I tried to take a version of this picture the other day (well, before it had actually opened), but got sidetracked by a dog.

The chef, who'd come out the side door on Dalmeny Street, was very pleased I was taking the picture and posed for me deliberately. I had a look to see if they were on twitter, but it seems not, so hard for me to let them know about the picture. Unlike yesterday's subjects, who were all over my photograph and blip entry, with enthusiasm.

Shortly after I took this photograph, it all started kicking off. I was returning - sweatily - from a spinning class at Tribe, and had wandered down the Walk taking various photographs. After taking this photograph, I went into a local bakers and was about to buy a vanilla slice each for me and Mr A when I discovered I didn't have my wallet in my bag. Cue panic, as I was sure that I had picked it up and put it in my bag. Had I pulled it out further up the Walk when removing my camera from my bag? I phoned Mr A, and he told me that it wasn't on my side table or on the dining room table. I told him to carry on looking and set off back up the Walk to where I started taking pictures. I suddenly remembered where it must be - in my pannier. Just as I was phoning him, he found it too. Duh.

Anyway, no vanilla slice, so that's the end of that.

Meanwhile, I plod on, and I can see the end of Chapter 3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.