It’s All THEIR Fault!

This is a very badly phrased blip title. ‘Fault’ implies something negative and I don’t mean that at all! Maybe I should have titled it ‘Alfie’s Godparents’!

These are my friends Sheila and Brian and they came to have lunch with me today whilst visiting England. Sheila and I used to fly together and she has now been retired for 10 years. I’m not jealous at all!! She and Brian live in New Zealand now, and today was the first time I have met Brian.

We have stayed in touch via Facebook and about 3 years ago I followed their travels around Australia in a Campervan - a little different from mine and more accommodating to the rough terrain of the Australian outback. Every time I saw pictures of the trip and of the vehicle I kept saying to myself - “Ooh! I’d like one of those!” I had already started camping in tents and I had driven across Europe to Sweden already once (staying in hotels, but wishing I was in a Campervan).

So....I am at that point in life when I am tired of saying - “I’d like to do THAT one day”, so I decided to DO it! And so a year or so later I bought Alfie!! I did several short trips around England last summer and also drove to Sweden and back, enjoying some wonderful camping and countryside along the way. While Dolly was still with me we had a few adventures in Alfie and I have such happy memories of our Campervan trips. I love Alfie! This year I am again doing some short trips closer to home, and I’m enjoying some places I’ve never been to or haven’t seen in a very long time.

These days Sheila and Brian have been touring around the USA in a different, slightly larger Campervan/Motorhome. And again I’m feeling a little tempted to follow in their footsteps! Too far for Alfie, but...???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.