Possibly the best

By Letters

By Zahra A.

Been around for more Remembrance Sunday's than I care to admit. After this one I got to thinking of all those war poets and writers. Yeats, Owen, Remarque, Rosenburg and all the rest. All good stuff, poignant in many ways and just as relevant as ever. What of the civilians though. Caught up in wars they cannot control or understand. This poem is by an Afghan woman.

I am a daughter of war.
When I was born,

The war was going on.
The sky was dark.
The houses were broken.
The weather was dusty.
The trees were seared.

There was no plant,
No awake human,
No tears in the eyes left.

The streets were covered
By dead human bodies;
The blood was like a river
In the street, house and everywhere.

I didn't consider failure.
I was full of hope;
I could see

Green places, a blue sky,
Smiles on everyone's face, tall buildings,
A book in my hand,

Sitting under the tree,
Studying with my parents and siblings,
In my dreams.

But

War never gave this chance.
War took my parents from us.
War took my book

And gave me burqa;
They put me in the jail of burqa.
War forbade me from going outside.

War changed my beautiful land
To the worst place in the world.
War changed our smiles to tears.

War made our dreams
Of going to school,
Freedom of speech,
To be just a dream.

But

I will try.
I will stand for my right.
I will break the silence.
I will show my power.
And I will bring peace
In my country once again.

I promised.

There will be no more war;
I will make my dreams come true.

Once again,
My homeland will be like heaven
And my people will be happy.

By Zahra A.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.