If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Luing Cattle.

In the afternoon I decided to pop up to the Eycott Hill Nature Reserve.  Life has been so hectic (or too hot to feel like doing much) that I missed the flowers in the "Coronation meadows".  I was sure I would find some thing to blip even if it was only my favourite mountain.

Usually the Luing which graze the reserve are mere brown specks in the distance.  Today they were comparatively close.  However as the had calves at foot and there was a notice saying the bull may be running with them I didn't approach too closely.

The breed has an interesting history.  Developed by the Cadzow brothers on the Scottish island of Luing starting in 1947 they were finally accepted as a breed in 1965.  They were developed from the Beef Shorthorn for its fleshing qualities and the Highlander for the ruggedness.  This makes them an ideal breed for year round grazing on this high ground reserve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.