dreaming

By dreaming

Another library

You may recall my telling you that, when the weather became so unbearably hot, I took refuge in an air-conditioned lounge down the hall.  This is it, with comfortable armchairs, this table and chairs, and five full bookcases.  There is even a little bit of decor (Extra).  For some reason, I'm the only one who hangs out there.

I had an interesting time at the real library today.  I worked with a young African-American man who is taking English 101 at a community college and wanted help with an essay he needed to complete for class.  It was difficult, as he tends to think in generalities and is very single-minded, and I'm not sure what he took away from our session.  I think I wore him out - he's not used to having to think in a detailed and organized way.  But after we finished and he left, a young immigrant working at the computer behind us turned to me and asked if I could help him with his essay!  Unfortunately there was no time left, but I encouraged him to come next Saturday, when there would be several of us available to help him.  Clearly, someone was excited by the work I did with Charles, if not he himself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.