Lost racing pigeon

While Mr hazelh and I were at the hospital visiting my father yesterday, my not-so-little sister found a disorientated racing pigeon in my parents' garden. She caught it in a net, secured it in a cat basket, then telephoned the number on its wing. The pigeon's owner lives in Cumbria. 'Ours' was one of eleven that he lost yesterday. Apparently racing pigeons are another of the hot summer's casualties. The strange atmospherics caused by the heat are making it difficult for them to trace their way home.

This morning the pigeon fancier drove over to my parents' house to collect his charge. My not-so-little sister kindly made a sign (blipped) to guide him down the drive.

This afternoon Mr hazelh and I accompanied my mother to the hospital in Haltwhistle to spend three hours with my father. My not-so-little sister, who is now officially on daughter duties until next weekend, will visit this evening. Meanwhile the middle sister and her husband set off on the long journey back to Sussex earlier today, sending regular temperature updates from the car as the heat increased the further south that they drove.

I'm typing this at Carlisle station as Mr hazelh and I wait for our train back to Edinburgh. We will return to Northumberland next weekend.

Exercise today: walking (9370 steps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.