ArcLight abstract

The first time that I visited ArcLight and alfthomas at home I was very taken by the pieces of art displayed around their flat. I was even more impressed to learn that some were their own creations. Here I blip a segment of a beautiful oil painting by ArcLight that hangs in their hall. This section reminds me of the giant montbretia that grow at the water's edge in Scotland at this time of year, lots of which I saw from the tandem on my recent cycling holiday.

After a night of little sleep on the sofa (oh yes, insomnia is back) I worried that I would not survive the whole day through to this evening with ArcLight and alfthomas and their friends. However, at things turned out I actually enjoyed a full day of favourite things that included a bit of blipping, some cooking/baking, a game of Catan, dinner with friends, and a party (where we also saw meles and DaveH, and discovered that a couple of guests who live on Loch Awe saw us struggle up the hills on our tandem on 21st July).

The game of Catan with Mr hazelh, Winsford and Mr Winsford was very interesting. The initial lay-out of pieces meant that Mr hazelh and I were trapped in one corner of the board very early on. There was also a severe ore shortage. This made it impossible for me to expand my 'empire', and difficult for me - or anyone else - to build cities and collect points quickly. It also meant that the game lasted much longer than usual at around 90 minutes. We even ran out of development cards! In the end Mr Winsford won (and I came second).

Exercise today: minimal walking to the party and home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.