East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Total Eclipse of the Sun

Big excitement up north today (around Cairns and Port Douglas areas) with people flying in from all over to experience the total eclipse of the sun this morning. We only had a partial eclipse here and I managed to see it through an approx 50 year old welding helmet so I hopefully I won't have done any damage to my eyes. I didn't have any luck with photos though so have taken one of the TV coverage from up north as the next best thing. I'm hoping some blippers may have been up north and got better shots for us all though.
PS Apparently there will be one in the Northern Hemisphere next year.
Afternoon Edit: bird update re yesterday's blip - we now have two young Rosellas - and I have a sneaking suspicion there maybe three. I'm going to add some photos of the two young ones to blipfolio.
and then there were two
Keeping any eye on the kids
Stormy Sunset Late a'noon edit: I went outside to have a look at the storm that was approaching and noticed a gorgeous apricot colour in the sky over the river - by the time I grabbed the camera and walked down there the colour was fading fast as the storm clouds took over - and it had changed to this pale gold colour. It was still lovely though so I thought i would add it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.