Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mono Monday - Blast

If you stop by regularly, you know that I almost never do mono.  I just don't see the world in shades of gray - I see it in vivid color.  But I thought that this particular photo might be better in mono to draw attention to the amazing details of a dragonfly.  As for the theme of "blast"...well, the second after I took this, he blasted off his perch in pursuit of prey.  Hey, I know it's probably a stretch...

The dragon is a cherry-faced meadowhawk who is past his prime, but still a fearsome hunter.  He didn't let today's scorching temperatures stop him from patrolling the garden in search of a meal.  I will put a color shot of him in Extra, if you are interested.

Perhaps my most exciting find of the day was my feathered-tiara beetle from Friday...with a lady in tow!  Actually, she wasn't that into him, but he persisted, chasing her around and around the mint until finally she let him climb on board.  And not just once, but many times.  Give the guy an A+ for perseverance.  And you can see the two love-beetles in-flagrante dilecto HERE on Flickr.  (C'mon, you know you want to!)

Many thanks to Laurie54 for doing such a great job hosting MM!

Hubs and I are off to the State Fair tonight.  First year in quite a while that none of my photos placed in the competition, so I'll be keen to see who got ribbons.  

Back later...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.