Pictorial blethers

By blethers

No quads today ...

Long walk with my pal today: we had much to discuss and needed space. I haven't been up Gairletter Glen for years, and discovered it had changed considerably since my last visit, when every track was dark with forest on either side. Now, in common with several places I like to walk, the forest in being harvested, revealing the contours of the land as well as small burns and - in this picture - a tiny lochan in the middle of the glen floor. 

We walked down the track used - and for all I know created - by the quad bikes hired out by the enterprising farm at the foot of the glen. It made a change from forest tracks, and was surprisingly unmuddy except for a fairly dire bit at the end. We washed our boots in a burn that ran onto the beach before we got into a car ...

A satisfying afternoon, in which we discussed the bones of two pending sermons, solved several global issues, and covered 12 kilometres. And according to my Fitbit, I used up 2,030 calories today - A Good Thing if ever there was one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.