AMK81

By AMK81

Memorial of butterflies

Another exhausted day at work. I went out for a ten minute walk at lunch time and walked through Sackville Gardens as I have many times before. I've wondered a few times what the shapes carved in the tree are but never gone over to look. Today I decided to explore. It's has beautiful butterflies carved into wood and has a plaque on that says:

"You were known by us
Transgender memorial

We remember those who have gone before us
And we will fight for those yet to come

Erected in 2013 by the transgender and gay community to remember all our sisters and brothers who have left us. Love will always conquer hate"

And there are many other small plaques around it to commemorate individuals. I found it quite sad to see all the names of those who have died too soon - either murdered or taken their own life. It's particularly shocking that the last name was just this year and a trustee of Sparkle (a charity to promote trans awareness). I've included a few of the name plaques, but there were too many to show properly :(

It's a beautiful memorial, but I wish it wasn't necessary.

EDIT to add this is apparently the world's first substantial Transgender Memorial. Standing approximately 12 feet high in Sackville Gardens, and carved in situ from a solid piece of sycamore tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.