The best laid plans… Part 2!

The birthday ice cream! Sadly not at The Mumbles in the Gower as planned, but instead at… the Royal United Hospital, Bath!! 

Having been feeling very unwell for the last four days, before heading to the RUH to visit my Dad, I had an early appointment with the doc who promptly sent me immediately to the RUH for an urgent scan! Another long story cut short, after many tests, the good news was that I didn’t need surgery but the bad news was that they didn’t know what the problem was. (Further tests if pain persists for six weeks.) 

After two hours sorting myself out, I then went down to sort out my dad who was in the ward below me! He’d responded really well to the meds overnight and was told at 11am that he could go home that afternoon. The usually story when waiting to be discharged, the meds finally arrived at…. 6.30pm!!

By the time I  finally got home, I’d had enough of everything and couldn’t even be bothered to open my birthday presents or cards, I was too tired to do anything at all. Spending nine hours inside a hospital (on what was a gorgeous day, apparently!) definitely wasn’t the birthday I’d planned, and definitely a birthday I won’t forget in a hurry! But I did get to enjoy a birthday ice cream in the sun, even if it was only in the hospital courtyard!!

(A second backblip, backblipped the first part of the saga earlier today if you’re interested…)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.