The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Labyrinth

Outside the Elemental tent, which was being run by a church group, a large Cretan-style labyrinth on a tarpaulin was unrolled each evening. My sister and niece and I walked it slowly every evening, trying to be meditative, but of course there were also kids zooming over it and people walking straight across, so it was what it was for each person.

I've been fascinated by labyrinths since I worked on a book about them almost twenty years ago. I ended up being in a photoshoot for the book, which involved walking a Chartres-style labyrinth on canvas in an old chapel, which was then a studio. I would like to create my own, but I think it might be in stitches on a piece of cloth, so might end up being a path to be traced by a finger rather than by feet. I think the making could become engrossing. I might start with sand on a beach...

The Elemental tent was very well used by us, as my niece J liked to do crafts there, and my sister had a hand massage. At any time of night or day, one could find something going on there. Being near the Morris dance stage, it was also a handy place to meet.

I think my favourite band of today was Skipinnish, a teuchter (hailing from the Scottish Highlands) band, but the days are now a little blurred in my mind. The heat was incredible, but it is at least cooler inside the marquees, if there is space to squeeze in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.