The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Beltane Border Morris at Wickham festival

Many Morris sides danced on the stage today. At a guess, I would say this is Beltane Border Morris, because they are the only side who wear entirely black clothing. Border sides also black up their faces, a practice originally created to disguise the identity of the dancers from the police, who could arrest them for begging.

Highlights of the day included a folk singer called Findlay Napier, another called Daoiri Farrell, and a triple set of shanty singers. On the big stage, Tom Robinson (whom I haven't seen since 1980), John Ilsley (ex-Dire Straits) and the band Squeeze. The latter played all their hit singles, but with less energy and passion than previously. K and I were disappointed in how old they'd become, but Tom Robinson and John Ilsley were amazing!

After the music ended, I went to the late night comedy tent because the sound was amplified all over the site anyway. I stumbled back to the tent about 1 am, expecting a to make a cup of tar-black tea made with hard Hampshire water, but all I found in the tent was two recumbent, slightly snoring forms! Night night, K, night night J...

Mind you, it had been an absolute scorcher. Many times I sat in a marquee, back against the end wall, where I couldn't even see the band, just to escape the heat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.