IT'S RAINING!

It’s been raining now for almost two hours and it is wonderful not only to see the rain but to know that it is much cooler and to listen to the rhythm of the rain on our conservatory roof.  Cue for a song there methinks - and this brought back memories from my much younger days! 

I think that many of us had had enough of the heatwave, but I’m pleased it was sunny yesterday, and hope that it will be sunny again tomorrow when our grandson goes to Lord’s to watch England play India in the Test Match, and then again on Sunday when Mr. HCB is going to Bristol, with our older son, to watch his team play in a 20/20 cricket match against Essex.

I have been “playing around” with my new camera, the Canon EOS 200D and also with my old Canon SX50 and although it was a hard choice, preferred this shot of the Queen of Sweden rose, taken with the SX50 whilst standing under our carport, out of the rain, but because it has a long zoom lens, I didn’t get wet.

I have blipped this beautiful rose before, but have never looked up why it is called the Queen of Sweden - according to the David Austin website, it was “Named to commemorate the 350th anniversary of the Treaty of Friendship and Commerce between Queen Christina of Sweden and Oliver Cromwell of Great Britain in 1654.”  

Thank you for all your kind comments about the Blipmeet with Green56 yesterday - what a good job the rain didn’t come yesterday!

My radio interview was on Swindon 105.5 this morning - on a programme entitled "Swindon Roundabout" - it was strange listening to myself - Mr. HCB listened with me and each time I mentioned him - because of course, he is a BIG part of my Blipping experience, he did a quick “Harumph”!  

I am trying to find out how to access the Podcast because several people have expressed a wish to listen and when I get the information, will put it on here.

“I love the rain; 
     I love how it softens 
          the outlines of things. 
The world becomes softly blurred, 
     and I feel like 
          I melt right into it.”
Hagumi Hanamoto

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.