SILLY SATURDAY

You won’t be surprised to know that we went to Jack’s this morning for our usual coffee - but no cake!  We met Julia, a friend whose son has just got married in Rhodes, and thought it would be good to hear all about the wedding while it was fresh in her mind and it was great to "hear all about it."

We also met Trevor and Louise, our other friends, who had been away for a month, and caught up with them and also had a chat with Margaret - a busy morning, after which I decided to go and have a look in the charity shop for our local hospice, Prospect. 

I saw all these dolls - not genuine Barbie dolls - on the top shelf in the children’s area and began to move them around to take a photograph, glancing around surreptitiously, to make sure I wasn’t being watched!  Then I heard a voice just behind me “Do you want to move them so you can get a better shot?”  It was the lovely Manager of the shop, who knows that I take a photograph every day. 

I explained it was for the Silly Saturday Challenge and she kindly helped me move the dolls.  What a star! She said they weren’t genuine Barbies, which was why they weren’t that flexible - you can see the one on the far left is in rather a rude position - and why most of them were only £1 each.

I did buy a pair of M & S trousers for Mr. HCB - the least I could do - and then found a couple of small wooden Wentworth jigsaw puzzles, also for Mr. HCB, so I was very happy and so was he.

It was definitely my “Grab a Bargain” day today as I then went down into the town to Robert Dyas where I had seen a garden table,  four chairs with cushions and a parasol. It was originally £399 reduced to £279, then to £199, which I was prepared to pay. However, when I sweet talked spoke to the Manager, he said he would reduce it further, if we collected it, rather than them delivering, to £135. For that price I would have carried it the 3 miles home!! 

I rang Mr. HCB, who was watching his team play football, and explained what I had just bought and then I rang our lovely neighbours, Mike and Lynn, to ask if they could help with collecting the garden set.  I knew they would help if they could and an hour later, they arrived, with Mr. HCB, and now we are back home and just have to put the table back together - but wouldn't you know it - the rain has just started.  Ah well, there's always tomorrow - except Mr. HCB is off to cricket - guess I've got the job then!

All in all a great day - meeting lovely friends, and being helped by great neighbours.  Just hope the sun shines soon so that we can use our new garden set.

“I want you to be concerned
     about your next door neighbour.
Do you know
     your next door neighbour?”
Mother Teresa


P.S.  I am still trying to find out about the link to the radio interview on Swindon Roundabout and will put it on here as soon as I have it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.