Choose Joy

By Energia

Trade war

I don't need a telephoto of this reach until next year when I go to Yellowstone, and I've been holding off in case a new, cheaper lens option happened to come along, but I grew concerned about the trade war. This thing is a beast!!! 

Meanwhile the mirror manual weighs nothing. The new vintage telephoto lens my neighbor gave me weighs much less than this new, very fine, auto-focus lens with image stabilization. Even with image stabilization I leaned backward against a fence to get this. 

I value my neighbor feeding the deer and the foxes. Her husband has a lot of health problems and this brings him such joy. Also, she's been able to sneak medicine into the foxes and help cure them of their mange. Now I also value it because it gives me reliable subject matter to practice my zoom lenses on. (My last deer was at the Historic Rockville Cemetary, not where she feeds the deer.)

The telephoto my neighbor gave me was in its original packaging, down to the plastic bag on the lens inside the box. He said he'd only used it twice. Its size relative to all other lenses is impressive, but it is nothing compared to this beast so I doubt it will ever come out unless it is specifically for wildlife shooting - like Yellowstone or another safari.  

White supremacists are coming to DC this weekend to celebrate their rally this time last year where they severely wounded multiple people and killed one young woman. I think anyone who comes to DC in August on purpose deserves the heat and the humidity and the best counter-protest would be a dance party, inside but nearby, with air conditioning. In addition to the humidity they stand a good chance of thunderstorms. 

I will instead spend my time, at home, indoors, with AC, making a video of my wonderful Pasni experience which seems quite appropriate as I could not have had it without the tremendous diversity my area and my country has. 

I did, however, donate to a fund to cover bail for counter-protesters who get arrested. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.