Glen rosa and new Walking Boots

After having been to bed way before 11pm last night, I was awake at 8am and felt quite rested.
We got ready for breakfast and packed our stuff.
Breakfast was nice. I had scrambled eggs with salmon. 
Then we went for a walk in Lamlash. The weather did not look great. It was cloudy and drizzly. In Lamlash is also the Life boat station for Arran and they had a fundraising event. We looked at their life boat and the quite impressive waterproof tractor, which is used to get the boat in the sea. We studied a bit the information and donated some money. I always support the lifeboats.
While visiting a local shop I suddenly noticed that the sole of one of my walking boot was hanging lose in the middle. Not good! 
I was a bit upset as I love my walking boots but a also realised that I have them already over 10 years. So it is ok for them to get a bit worn.
We moved on to the slightly busier Brodick and I saw a quite substantial outdoor shop. We went in and I looked at the walking boots. I did not think it was a good idea to go for a 10 km hike with my sole falling off.
An hour later I left the shop with new Salomon walking boots. I in the end bought a good and expensive pair of boots, which will probably last another 10 years.
The weather had also improved and we drove to the Arran brewery where the walk into Glen Rosa starts.

Arran is an amazing island. With their 4or 5 thousand residents they produce a lot of things that are widely available in Scotland and probably also in England.
Arran Cheese, Arran Ice-cream, Arran creamery for more dairy products, Arran Whisky, Arran Ale, Arran cosmetics, Arran Aromatics 

We started the walk behind the brewery and walked through woodlands until the entered Glen Rosa. What a beautiful Glen with a water stream running through it, will falls and pools. Really wonderful.
The weather cleared up but the hills did not catch the right light for photos.
However, we enjoy the walk and the views enormously.
We walked back on the other side of the stream and reached the car again 3.5 hours later.
We were a bit knackered and hungry.
It was approaching 6 pm and we needed to be at the ferry before 7pm.

We drove back to Brodick and entered the Auchrannie Resort. Neil had seen a restaurant with nice reviews and we marched into Eighteen 69. 
It looked quite posh and I felt a bit misplaced with my walking gear. 
But the staff was lovely and gave us a table. We told them that we only had an hour.
The place was serving Scottish Tapas. The Menu was amazing and we could hardly decide. We went for 6 dishes and they came pretty quick. Everything was AMAZING!
Scallops, lamb, pork belly, mullet, Cullen Skink pie and roasted sprouts with chestnuts. Oh my god! I will be back here and eat the other half of the menu!

We made it to the ferry in time and had time to get out of our boots and sort our stuff before we drove on.
We sat in the sun why we left and enjoyed the views on Arran.

We will definitely be back next year - but then for 2 nights. 
What a lovely weekend we had - and at our doorstep!

One hour drive home, carrying our stuff in the third floor, a cup of tea and then bed!

Blipping Glen Rosa in main and extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.