Isle of Arran - Machrie Moor Stone Circles

I got up at 6:30 am feeling tired. Had a shower and coffee and tried to get into gear. I was so slow.
We finally left closer to 8:30 am than 8:15am and Neil was grumpy. However, I did not let that down my mood! We were on the way to Arran, a night away in a lovely Hotel with a nice restaurant! I knew we would catch the ferry.
We arrived at Ardrossan in time and got on a very busy ferry. The boat was much bigger then I had expected.
One hour later we disembarked the ferry at Brodick on the Isle of Arran! 
Arran is called Scotland in miniature because it combines all Scotland’s features on one small island.
Our first plan was to find some breakfast and then get an idea of the island. We drove north, more accidentally then consciously.
We passed Arran Aromatics, and stopped for a look. There was also a cheese shop and I did buy some Arran cheese. You can actually get it everywhere in Scotland, but it was still nice to buy it there.
Then we continued to look for a place for breakfast or an early lunch.
We passed a small Seafood place, but we missed breakfast and lunch we still in preparation.
So we continued to drive north to Lochranza. It is a small island! Up there we thought we would drive back and have a look at the cafe at the Destillery.
It was ok but in the end we drove back to Corrie to the seafood cafe.
I had the most wonderful Langustines of my life! So beautifully cooked and tasty with chilli lime butter. I was blown away. Also Neil was impressed by his cajun spices cod! 
We were both happy bunnies when we left the place and rdove again up north passing Lochranza once more.
In the north and west side of the island, it was quite quiet. After I saw all those many people on the ferry I expected more traffic here.
We drove along the cost and stopped here and there. At a local shop we got some Arran Ice-cream and sat on a bench and enjoyed it overlooking the sea.
We reached Machie Moor later than expected and went off to walk to the stone circles.
Arran has plenty of those and many other archaeological sites from the Neolithic age. 
On the Landranger Map you can actually see standing stones, stone circles, chambered cairns etc all over the place. 
Machrie stone circles is the most developed site and the father there was well maintained. More information here
There are six stone circles in different sizes and states. Quite impressive and lovely to see.
It was unfortunately quite busy when we arrived, but I did not mind and got my Hasselblad out to do my first shots with that baby again.
It is such a lovely and slow process, needing to use a handheld light meter. I enjoyed it and people where quite respectful and did not just walk in my picture.
After that I did some long exposures with my canon. It was fun. With 30 seconds exposure, you do not have to worry about moving tourists.
We then walked back to the car. Its about 45 min one way. 
We finished the tour around the island and arrived in our hotel in Lamlash at 7 pm. Our dinner was booked at 8 pm.
The staff was lovely and we got a cosy room in the second floor.
We changed and went down for a coffee first, then claimed our table in the restaurant. We had a fine meal with more seafood for me.
The dessert defeated me! It was a lot! Delicious, but after it I was ready to collapse.
We managed to get back to the room before that happened and I fell to bed as soon as I had downloaded my pictures. Since I have a small card only, that needed to happen today.

Blipping Marchrie Moor Stone Circles in main and extras
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.