Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Laughter And Tears

While The Mother was at the hairdresser's I walked the route we would make to this afternoon's Memorial Service for my neighbour. I was in search of something to blip to mark this special day without the handicap of a wheelchair to push.

I stopped beside a municipal flower bed and was taking shots of the primula when a gentleman approached: "I've been sent out of the office to find out what you're doing with that huge camera!" I explained about blip and how I'd taken a photo a day for over three and a half years for others to see and comment on.

By that time I was in full flow explaining that I needed a poignant shot, and this was it! The prettiness and brightness of the flower with raindrops like a face celebrating good times remembered, but crying! I told him it was to mark a memorial event and it turned out he was part of the deceased lay-preacher's congregation.

We also talked about a couple of business opportunities for my photos which have possibilities!

I knew I could trust the Methodists to do something wonderful in spite of tragedy! The Memorial Service was amazing! A huge screen showed about half an hours worth of photos accompanied by music, of the deceased enjoying life. Those who spoke did so with love and humour about their colleague, friend, minister and father.

I feel uplifted and can start to come to terms with what happened last week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.