AMK81

By AMK81

Keaw Yed

I went into Manchester today to the crochet & knit group NellieD runs. I also had lunch with a friend and another lady from the group afterwards. We went to Leaf and I had the yummy vegan breakfast (available until 3pm) and a lovely cherry blossom green tea. After lunch my friend took me to Vimto Gardens to take a photo of the Vimto sculpture on the way to the train station (she decided it should be my blip).

It was a replacement bus to get me home again. As we pulled into Westhoughton the bus driver shouted 'Keaw Yed', 'Howfen' and then 'Westhoughton'. At that point I decided to take a photo of the sign on the station platform (the Wigan facing one). It depicts the 'Keaw Yed' or cow's head. According to local legend a local farmer got his cow's head stuck in his gate and as the gate was worth more he cut the cow's head off. Now all those that hail from Westhoughton are called 'Keaw Yeds'! When I went to Westhoughton High School the uniform even had a cow's head in a gate on it! Howfen is just another shortened term for Westhoughton.

Also on the way up the steps from the Wigan platform is the cute little scene with the gnomes and mushrooms that I've added as my extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.