Rain................... And dementia?

Yes, I know this is a very strange title, but as we use Blip as a diary of my life it is important to record what happened last night...........................



…................My very lovely owner, Ann, went out to see a show and then had dinner. She got home just before 10pm, took me out for my bedtime wee, groomed me and gave me my dental stick. That has been my bedtime routine ever since Ann adopted me. Then she went to bed. If Ann hasn't spent the evening with me, she leaves her bedroom door open and if I want to, I can go and sleep on the floor next to her bed.



Ann was very tired so she fell asleep straight away so she hasn't a clue whether I was sleeping in her bedroom or in my own little bed in the living room. However at about 2am she woke up and could hear me pacing and panting around the flat. Generally speaking I don't usually move much at night. I go to sleep and that's it. But last night I kept coming into her bedroom and going out and walking along the hall and then going into the living room. And as we have wood flooring in the hall and living room; padding around was starting to annoy Ann cos she couldn't get back to sleep. She thought I maybe had an upset tummy and needed to be sick or needed to go to the toilet so she opened the balcony door for me. I didn't want to go out on the balcony.



Long story short! I padded around until 5am so Ann used the time to google, 'Dogs pacing and panting at night'. And what popped up every time was dementia?! There were a few other things that popped up but Ann being Ann has now got it into her head that I have dementia?!



Anyway around 5am everything went quiet so Ann went back to sleep and when she got up at 8am I was lying flaked out in 'normal sleeping mode' on the sofa. I had, however, had a poo on the balcony so maybe I did have a poorly tummy. Who knows?!



It was raining when I went out for my morning walk. I don't like walking on my lead in the rain so I was in 'snail mode'. I was going so slow that Ann was practically pulling my collar off over my head! We were only out for 10 mins and every step of the way was a struggle. Ann sooooo wishes she had a nice garden that I can toilet in play in on the days that I'm feeling sleepy.



But then do you know what happened?......................... We met Ann's friends, Kay & Allison ( and Cassie the cockerpoo) for a walk around Harlaw Reservoir in the rain and all of a sudden I was in 'super speedy collie mode' again?! The minute that I got out of the car, I was zooming around all over the place like a little puppy. I was swimming, I was running, I was having the best time ever.



…..................And Ann was trying to explain to Kay and Allison why she thought I had dementia?? I think Kay & Allison thought Ann was the one with dementia!



This afternoon Ann has been to see her last show at the Edinburgh Festival – 'Rory Bremner & Jan Raven. Would thoroughly recommend it. I've just been for a walk to Sainsbury's so that Ann can buy a microwaveable lasagne and a bottle of wine. She knows how to live?! And I'm in 'snail mode ' again.



#Owninganoldgorgeouslittlecollieisnoteasy



…....................And that's why the title of this Blip is, 'Rain & Dementia'

PS - It's still raining in Edinburgh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.