Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A bad start, but a good end...

Popped into the shower quite early this morning - we were expecting the structural engineer at 9am. But...

NO hot water!!

The boiler was completely dead. No lights, nothing. A frantic phone call ensued, and Mark was round very soon afterwards. It was a 'loose connection'. Hang on - it was a 'loose connection' last night, and that was 'fixed'. Mind you, the box they're trying to fiddle with is in a very awkward spot, with not much room to move. All sorted.

The Structural Engineer came at the same time, so Archie had a whale of a time trying to chase these two men out of the house. He looked at the wall (didn’t even tap it), declared it load bearing, and that was it. £800, thanks. But he will do some nice little drawings for the builder, and for the Building Warrant. Interestingly, he said that these wonderful old Victorian tenements would not be built now. Though they're still standing more than 100 years later, while some of the newly built schools have been falling apart!

JR took Archie away up the hill for a big long walk, while I popped down town to visit my new physiotherapist. It was a free consultation, which of course, would lead to a proper session if he thought he could assist. Which he did. I made a proper appointment for an hour hence!

Time for a coffee, pastel de nada and a huge delicious ice cream, then back for a proper session.

He suggested acupuncture (along with massage and targeted exercises). 'Oh no, I’ve had that and it didn’t work, ' said I.

But I had Chinese acupuncture, and he does Western acupuncture - quite different, apparently. Oh well, I'll give it a go. For one thing, the needles didn’t have to be in for half an hour, and for another, he used them in the back of my legs, my back and my bum, so I didn’t see them, which always helps.

He's given me some exercises to do and I'll see him again next week. He's confident I can get back all the strength in my legs, which is the problem. I'm feeling very positive, which is a good start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.