20/20

Following yesterday's disappointing lack of rain, it did then rain quite a bit after midnight. However, that turned out to be not quite such good news.

Late yesterday evening I collected some salad from the vegetable plot. Back in spring when I had started sowing seeds and had to witness our hens digging them all back out. I hurriedly erected a fence made of a 50m length of plastic sheep netting. Worked a treat but I didn't have the time that day to adjust it in such a way that there was an openable entrance - "Tomorrow" became "Never" and so I have to carry out various gymnastics to clamber over the fence and back out again while balancing radishes, peas, carrots and the like.

The salad was good, the meal was good and with a full stomach, I soon fell asleep.

This morning after the first cup of eyelid opening coffee I searched for the mobile phone to find out what was happening in the world outside. I seldom look at my phone and particularly not in the evening or night (unless Flash takes a long 2:00 am pee-stroll and I get bored waiting).

No phone to be found and a "This number is not available" when I called myself from the landline. Then started the "Where. when?" bit and eventually the "Oh, No" realisation came.

Out to the vegetable plot and sure enough amongst the knee-high weeds alongside the fence lay the phone. Some may remember I washed my last phone a few months ago at 60°C and a full dose of Persil.

Luckily the phone was still alive but I could see on the camera lens, lots of little condensation bubbles. There followed the panic that the moisture may suddenly get somewhere inside and short circuit. But I was lucky.

At about 11:00 am the condensation was still on the lens but I risked taking a photo. Today's Blip is the result and was the only photo of the day. Flash (who will be 15 in two days) with his pal Cindy who he has known throughout his life. She turned 15 back in the spring. Both of them were born on the same farm in 2003.

Hope that the mist goes soon as this is the only usable camera I have since my Nikon broke.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.