Molting Hummingbird

Ruby-throated hummingbirds will 'body' molt while here in the States for the summer, but save their wing & tail feather molting for the winter months when in Mexico/Central America.  This ensures their flying will not be hampered during migration.

The molting of this hummingbird gives it a dirty appearance to me.  Like she has been wallowing in mud.  :-) 

I headed outside almost as soon as it was light this morning and was rewarded with lots of photo opportunities during the two & half hours I was out there.  

The hardest was choosing what to use for my blip!  So I have two collages in the extras.  Extra #1 are the dragonflies and Extra #2 is more of this fella and another at the feeders.

The most annoying thing today was that I took the time to get good coverage, using insect repellent (with DEET) and still I got multiple insect bites.  I'm telling you, the two months of rain has created mutant insects here!

Having a quiet afternoon/evening as we wait to see if we hear back regarding the emergency call to the HVAC people today.  The A/C seems to be struggling and it's on the too warm for me side in the house.  Why do these things always happen on the weekend?!

Hey, it's Friday!  Happy Weekend Everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.