The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

'The Taste of Bahrain'

This was the last day of my first visit to Bahrain. We visited the fish market, so exotic with many different kinds of fabulous fish, but quite overwhelming in its odours! Bought some fish and took them home, where I received a photography masterclass in standing on a chair to shoot a platter of fish! My nieces Christina and Immy took some away to draw, or print with, and eventually we worked out how to cook the remainder and eat them. You could say we got our money's worth.

At some point beforehand we went to a restaurant, most likely in one of the malls, and had red soup and green drinks. I know this, because the photos tell me so. They never lie...
I have chosen the green drink because it is made of mint and lemon, and is the best tasting cordial in the world. Christina, my niece, knows what I mean, for when we discovered a local variant in Stroud, UK, the Mint and Lemon by the Five Valleys Cordial company, she tasted it, and her whole face lit up.

'It's the taste of Bahrain!' she exclaimed.

On her next visit, she dragged her boyfriend off to the farmer's market so that he, too, could taste one of the flavours of this tiny island, the one that she called home for fifteen of her twenty-two years.



This is a really old picture that I am back blipping for fun, to learn about processing and presentation. Please do take a look at some others in my Feb 2007 Bahrain series if you are interested, but notice that I am blipping daily now, as I have been since July 2012. More recent images are available.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.