Disappointed

The day started as another grey day. Rain was forecasted but it never happened here and in the afternoon the clouds cleared and it was a beautiful blue sky day, though windy.

After dinner I decided to head over to one of my favourite parks for a long stroll and to see the sunset. Where I enter the park it’s a walk straight up to the top of a small hill with a picnic table at the top. When I got to the top I was surprised to see that a group of ‘travellers’ had taken up residence with their caravans a little beyond there. I took a couple of shots of the sunset and left, a bit disappointed that I wasn’t able to do my full walk. All the usual walkers and their dogs were noticeably absent. I didn’t feel unsafe but I’m sure I wasn’t welcome either. I shall avoid the park for a couple of weeks. I stopped at the lake on the way home for a few minutes of calm and the tail end of the sunset!

In other news - this morning a friend told me about a travelling photography exhibit which was currently in Maidenhead today, so I stopped by to take a look on the way home from church this morning. It is put on by a charitable organisation called The Photographic Angle and the exhibits are free. Their website says:

“The Photographic Angle (TPA) is a charitable organisation set up to promote the education of the public in the art and science of photography. We stage exhibitions that are free to enter and that travel across the UK transforming otherwise empty spaces into photographic galleries...”

The theme of this particular exhibit was ‘Patterns’. I enjoyed it immensely and it would be worth checking out to see if there was one in your area. See Extra photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.