lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

Snoqualmie Railroad Days Car Show

My father had one of these cars, brand new, back in 1966. Same color. It was his pride and joy - he just loved it. I know some women love cars but there is something about many more men that makes them fall in love with a car. My husband is the same way. 

Anyway, one of my brothers "borrowed" it (he was 15 I think, and the car was still quite new) and drag-raced it through a new homes development where the streets were not quite all the way paved. He caught the front axle on a sewer man hole that was sticking out of the unfinished pavement and totaled the car. I think it took my dad a long time to fall in love with a car again! Probably my brother couldn't sit down for weeks...but at least Dad didn't kill him.

There were many beautiful, pristine cars at this show today. I also saw an old Mustang that reminded me of the car my friend Polly used to have - we drove to a lot of swim practices and meets in that old thing. Good memories  (unlike the one about my Dad's red Volvo)!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.