In An Instant

By MrRosewarne

'WWII Photographs'

I know we've just had rememberence day, but I just found this whole stack of photos that my grandmother had given me a while back in some drawers in the shed tonight while looking for something else.

These were photos taken by my Grandfather in the second World War while he was based in Northern Borneo while in the 'RAAF'.

There are ptobably about 50 or 60 of these little b & w photos, (some pretty horrific ones whcih won't be shown) a few bank notes and this food ration ticket.

For those of us who have never had to experience war first hand, I salute you and say thank you for your commitment, courage and sacrifice that all soldiers, sailors and airmen have given for their countries and continue to give around the world.

The shot in the middle is my Grandfather as a very young man in the air force standing over a drawing board.

One day I might find out if a museum might be interested in these old photos.

Finally have my computer back now, so have to start reloading all of the software from scratch. I never did find out what exactly was wrong with it except the technicians told me that they just gave the dust a good clean out. Anyway it seems to be working fine at the moment without overheating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.