HOT CHOCOLATE CATCH-UP

I try and keep in touch with the young people from our Church who have gone off to university by sending them cards each term and then it’s good to catch up with them when they are home for their long summer vacation to hear what’s been happening in their lives.

Today I met Kathryn, who has just finished her first year at Leicester University.  I hadn’t seen her for sometime, so it was good to hear first-hand about all she is doing in her Archaeology and Ancient History course.  She is hoping to do underwater archaeology, and as a Marine Archaeologist this would include studying shipwrecks, so will be taking a SCUBA Diving course when she gets back to uni in September.  

She also told me that she plays saxophone with the Leicester University Big Band and after a competition a few weeks ago, they are waiting to hear if they will be chosen to play at the Royal Albert Hall in London.  She is a very talented young lady!

Kathryn said that next year she may look to going on a “dig” with some of her tutors and this could be in Cyprus, Greece or Avebury, which is quite near to where we live.  I told her that Cyprus and Greece sounded much more exotic, but of course, Avebury probably wouldn’t cost as much and I’m sure “a dig is a dig” wherever you go. 

As usual with the young people, I treated Kathryn to a Hot Chocolate, but was astounded when I was charged 45p for 3 marshmallows - not that I begrudged them to her, of course, but really, 15p each?  We could have bought a WHOLE packet in Asda for under £1 - well I guess Costa has to make a profit somehow, but I might just buy a packet and keep it in my bag ready for the next time we meet!

Despite the cost, it was great to catch up with Kathryn - I should take her brother, Aaron, out for a catch up too - but better start saving before I do that!!  

I’ve known Kathryn since she was born and it is so good to see what a beautiful and talented young lady she is growing into.  Of course, her parents must take most of the credit for that, but there are many others who have had an input into Kathryn’s life and are as delighted as I am to see her as she is now.

“We worry about what a child 
     will become tomorrow, 
          yet we forget that (s)he 
               is someone today.”
Stacia Tauscher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.