Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Nightingale

It was a hot and sticky night and I didn't sleep well, but I felt slightly more upbeat when I saw a few patches of blue in the sky. After dropping Pete and Chris at the station I tried to do some work, but lacked focus so decided to have a walk round Castor Hanglands. Unfortunately, by the time I arrived it was pretty grey again, but the wetter parts of the reserve were still colourful, and I spent some time photographing devil's-bit scabious, one of my favourite late summer flowers - though it always reminds me that autumn isn't far away. 

As I was walking back to the car I heard a snatch of bird song that I didn't recognise, coming from the middle of a dense patch of blackthorn. It was a little bit like the winter song of a robin, but more melodious. I stood very still for a while and eventually spotted the bird responsible -  a nightingale, probably a juvenile. Usually nightingales skulk deep in the shrubbery, but this one popped out briefly, allowing me to take three shots, two of which were in focus. It's markings aren't as clear as the adult's, but the long rufous tail is very distinctive. Not a bird I expected to be photographing today!. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.