atoll

By atoll

A Question of Temperance Continued

Quite ironic that after my Temperence blip of Wednesday that I should be suffering from a thick head today, but there you are.

I spoke to Martin this morning on the phone only to find that he had been blaming our joint hangovers on my bad influence to his wife, whilst I had been saying exactly the same thing about him to MrsB.

The Temperance issue also extended itself today, in that following my ramble that day about my grandad James' years playing for the Wingates Temperance Band, I later contacted their website to see if their archive might like a few of the artefacts we have. They got back in touch very sharpish, as it seems 2013 is their 140th anniversary year, and they are currently organisting a new museum exhibit as a result. How funny is that? Long story short, I am donating these artefacts, and we have been offered complimentary tickets to a Christmas concert coming up to hand them over. My dad and grandad would have loved that, and the artefacts (which include photographs, winners medals and a 78 vinyl master-copy), will be returning to their rightfull spiritual home in Westhoughton.

Today then sees me away for a weekend to Beaumaris, Anglesey with MrsB and our friend Jeanette. Whether this will be a treat for me to have two lovely ladies to myself, or an opportunity for them to mickey-take me mercilessly for the whole weekend remains to be seen!

This is the view as we arrived at 4pm, overlooking Snowdonia across the Menai Straits. A couple of early-doors beers in the Olde Bull Inne next door to our house have my name on them.

Oh dear, here we go again!

Happy Weekend All!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.