atoll

By atoll

Wally The Wonderful

A lovely crisp sunny morning dawned today over Anglesey, but not an awful lot was achieved in our household, other than some much needed R&R.

After we arrived last night I found that Wally, a very sprightly 70-something who keeps an casual eye on our house whilst we are away, had organised all the woodwork repairs that I had mentioned on our last time down, weeks ago. Such a sweetheart, because I hadn't really given him any clear instructions at all, but he had gone ahead and organised the work anyway, because he knew it needed doing, and because he is so kind and considerate. Anyway, after paying the builder what was a very reasonable sum, Wally then wouldn't take anything for his own input last night. The compromise we agreed, when he called around again this morning was a nice single malt Genmorangie.

Today then, after a lazy breakfast, myself, MrsB and Jeanette headed off to an art gallery in Menai Bridge called Oriel Tegfryn, where amongst other paintings and etchings, Jeanette drooled over a local artist she loves called Karel Lek. Born in Antwerp in 1929 and settling here after WWII, Lek is still living and working in Beaumaris. He is arguably second only to the late, great Sir Kyffin Williams in terms of being an eminent local artist. We own a very nice artist proof lino cut of an accordionist done by Lek, and which I mentioned to nanou the other day.

After perusing the gallery, we had then had a very nice cappucinno and cake around the corner, in the newish Dylan's Restaurant overlooking the straits. I tried my best to get MrsB to pose for posterity, but it is like capturing a rare and shy butterfly. As for Jeanette, well she just lapped up the opportunity.

I popped around to Wally's house tonight with the whisky, where I then got a quick tour of his front lounge. This is something a little bit like the Blackburn Cabinet of Curiosities I featured last Wednesday. When I mentioned the gallery and Lek, Wally showed me an original picture on his wall, and then a drawer full of hand painted cards all from Lek, and going back decades. They were all gifts to Wally, who has lived in Beaumaris all his life.

I mentioned that one small portrait in particular was very beautiful, "take it then" says Wally. I politely refused of course, but what a kind generous man he is.

Sadly, my iphone battery was dead by now, but I will see if I can possibly get a blip of him tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.