NellieD

By NellieD

I walked to HOME at lunch today.  I would have loved to walk 'home' but it's actually a theatre and cinema venue (with a bad name)!  I wanted to get 3 of the Bees in the City which has now taken my tally to 83.  Will I get all 101?!

It's a good 20 minute walk each way and I blipped so many things!  There are three of these statues all in different poses but disappointingly I can't find anything about them online.  Perhaps they are simply suggesting you take up yoga!

What struck me as I was taking this photo was the huge amount of new buildings going up around the city.  As I was walking to HOME, I could see the Beetham Tower, the city's tallest building, which is now being dwarfed by all the skyscrapers going up around it.

The Beetham Tower is 47 storey's high and, until this year, was the tallest building in the UK outside London.  It has now been surpassed by the core of the South Tower at Deansgate Square, the building to the right of the statue in my blip.

The Beetham Tower is pretty famous across Manchester because it hums or howls in windy weather, apparently due to the wind rushing over the glass blade at the top of the roof.  She's affectionately known as the 'Screaming Banshee' and has accounts on Twitter.  The sound is supposed to be the chord b-flat and can be heard for several miles (on a really loud day)!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3kScUnvkWI

When is the tallest building, tall enough?  When do we have enough fancy city centre apartments that the majority of people can't afford?  Why don't they ever just turn the space into a beautiful park where everyone can escape from the noise of the traffic and take time away from all the glass and steel.

I don't understand why everything in life is such a competition, to be bigger and better than your neighbour!  

Quote for today:
Competition has been shown to be useful up to a certain point and no further, but cooperation, which is the thing we must strive for today, begins where competition leaves off.     
- Franklin D. Roosevelt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.