NellieD

By NellieD

Proud of Pride

It was my crochet/knit group meetup tonight.  What a fun, boisterous, rude(!) evening, certainly not how you imagine a crochet/knit group to be.  It's such a mixed group of people and tonight we tried out a new space in our new venue and it worked really well.  We have to reach a £50 minimum spend but with the amount of gin and wine that they sunk, we hit that in about 15 minutes!

It's Pride weekend in Manchester and everywhere you look there's flags, colour and signs.  My extra was in the window of a bar and it's typically Mancunian.

One of my friends asked if I had seen the paintbrush and I had no clue what she was talking about until she showed me on her phone.  My mind went into overdrive trying to work out when I could get to it to Blip it!  As we were all leaving, one of the ladies said they fancied going to see the paintbrush and have another drink - so I tagged along, just for the photo opportunity I might add.

I have a few friends I've known all my life, and then other friends I've met more recently at my crochet group (and book club) but it feels like I've known them forever.  Some are 20 years older than me, and some are 20 years younger, but it makes absolutely no difference at all and I love them dearly!

I thought this was a fantastic tribute to the Pride weekend and it certainly made me smile as soon as I saw it.

Quote for today:
Courage is being yourself everyday in a world that tells you to be someone else.
- Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.