Cowboy Toilet Paper

I've seen this wildflower my whole life.... It grows all along the roadsides once you get out of the city, and it grows all over in Northern Wisconsin where my grandparents both had their cottages, and yet I never knew it's name. Today I saw it growing in the restored area at the park, & even though it's not blooming right now, (when in bloom, the spires are covered in bright yellow flowers) I liked this picture of them with the three in a row.
I looked it up when I got home & it's native to Europe, so was introduced here in North America & is called "Common Mullein". Apparently here in the U.S. it's also referred to as "Cowboy Toilet Paper"!  It seems that because of the softness of the leaves on this plant, the cowboys (& no doubt early campers, hikers, etc.) used it when nature called!  And now I know.....in case I'm out hiking and am unprepared! :))))
Thanks to Miranda1008 for hosting WFW! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.