Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red-Banded Hairstreak

I had to blip this today because it is the first time I've ever seen this species.  And to find it in my own yard on my native mountain mint...a bonus!  It's not the best photo because I had the 300 lens on the camera and a macro would have done better; but the best gear is the gear in your hand, right?  Like most hairstreaks, it's a petite butterfly that would fit nicely on an American quarter.  And unlike many hairstreaks, its colors are quite vivid.  I did go back a short while later with a macro lens, but the flyer had gone.

Speaking of flyers, I had one of the hummers fly up to me and hover about a foot from my face this afternoon.  She was so close that I could feel the breeze from her wings - a strange and wonderful experience.  

Looking forward to seeing one of my good blipfriends, PhotoMatt, tomorrow afternoon, and then KangaZu and her hubby on Saturday.  I've asked the hummers to get out all their best moves for what will most likely be a photo extravaganza.

Monarch # 90, a female, released today in memory of a special lady.  And another 8 tiny cats rescued from the garden and moved into enclosures.  Looks like I'll be busy until the end of September.

Thanks for dropping by...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.