Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Giant Romance

Fellow Blipper, PhotoMatt got here mid-day and we parked ourselves on the patio for a fun-filled afternoon photographing hummers.  I took a few sorties down to the pollinator garden where the big buddliea has been a magnet for butterflies the last few weeks.  There were three Giant Swallowtails nectaring, but one male had other things on his mind and set about courting this rather tattered female.  He chased her, nuzzled her, rose high up in the air in a courtship ballet...and finally the two disappeared out of sight.  Hopefully starting the next generation of Giant Swallowtails.  I like this photo because you can see the overwing on the male, which is quite distinctive and separates it from the similar Tiger Swallowtails that are more common here.  

I'm hoping Matt will post a hummingbird - his big dilemma will be picking just one shot as I know he got many great ones.  Meanwhile, I got a few that were keepers, my favorite HERE on Flickr.

I've also posted a pristine Great Spangled Fritillary butterfly HERE on FLickr.  It must have just emerged as it doesn't seem to have blemishes at all.  And, it's only the second one I've had in my garden all year - it's been a very bad year here for this species.

Released today - two lovely male Monarchs.  Matt helped me release them.  And I also released the first of the 4 Black Swallowtails that were raised on my parsley.  It was very anxious to fly and not at all interested in being photographed, so off it went.  Three more to go.  

Happy Friday.  And stop back tomorrow when KangaZu and her hubby will be joining us here for more hummer/butterfly/bug fun!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.