An apple a day . . .

I set myself up so that I could sit and watch the hummingbird feeder on the porch as I decided that's what I was getting photos of today

As I patiently waited, I had MiniMe playing on the porch and watching me through the railings.  Spirit lay under one of the gaura plants (the one near my feet) so he could keep a close eye on me.

Not to waste time, I took photos of the bees that were busy going from one gaura bloom to another.  It was a job to get them in focus as there was a nice breeze blowing that was moving the blooms about and also when one of these fat fellas would land on a bloom, it would suddenly drop 2-3".

Pat & Austin arrived to cut the grass etc so that put paid to bird watching for a while.  Since it was a cooler day at last (75ºF/24ºC) with a breeze and the front garden in the shade, I began weeding.  I hadn't touched this garden regarding weeds since planting time so it was in a bad way and kept me busy until after lunch time.

In case I wasn't tired enough, decided since I was sweaty & dirty, to tackle the job of installing the new weather stripping on the door jam for the front door.  Kent had torn most of the old stuff off in a fit of frustration a couple of months ago.  That job is now complete.  Yay.

It was now 3pm and I decided that before a shower to clean up, I would sit and try to get a hummingbird at that porch feeder.  Just as I was about to give up and come inside, this young male made a quick visit (see extra).

My stomach is upset tonight so visits/comments will have to wait until tomorrow.  :-(  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.