Welcoming Kereru

Mother-in-law was discharged yesterday after only a couple of days in the Rehab ward where we had expected her to stay long enough to regain some of the strength she has lost with this latest chest infection. S and I went north to see her, and her brother who was across from Melbourne with his younger two children for a quick visit.

Just as I walked into Mother-in-law's workroom/studio I heard and caught a glimpse of this big Kereru landing in the newly leafed kowhai just outside. As this room is on the first floor, we could look directly at the Kereru, through the doors which open onto a small deck facing Kawau Bay. 
The Kereru seemed quite unconcerned at our nearby presence. I had more than enough time to go back to our property to collect my camera. And when I was trying to get as clear shot as I could, with it being deep amongst the leaves and branches, It merely paused in its eating of the new growth, and its red eye appeared to be focussed on me. It showed nothing to suggest that it feared us, and after I'd put the camera away, it went back to nibbling the new leaves. 

Mother-in-law was pleased to preview my photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.