Me and My Girls

This photo makes me happy. I've made it the screensaver on my phone and every time I see it I smile.
The weather today did not make me smile. We've always been so lucky with the weather when we're camping so it was a bit of a shock to see it was going to be chucking it down all day with a howling gale thrown in for good measure.
The rain in the night was deafening and everything was soggy this morning. Uuuuggghhh!!!!!
We'd checked the forecast last night so had already planned to go to Weymouth today for a day reliving my youth.
When I was young we used to go camping in Weymouth all the time. I remember we were camping there in our giant orange tent watching the Hillsborough disaster on a tiny black and white TV.
Then later on my mum bought a beautiful house and antique shop right on the harbour by the bridge and from then on we went every school holiday and most weekends too. 
I have so many wonderful memories of endless Summers - on the beach, on the trampolines, in the arcade, round the harbour, the raft in Newtons Cove, fish and chips, the Sandman, the Grockle shops....... Happy days!!!
It was a real trip down memory lane taking my daughters there today. The rain didn't let up all the way there and it was still tipping it down when we parked near the beach.
It was straight into the arcade with us for a happy hour reliving my youth playing on the 2p machines and hunting for fallen coins once we'd run out. Brilliant!!
The rain had eased off by the time we came out so we stopped at a lovely cafe with a deck out over the beach. The Little Misses had ice cream, Mr K had a chip butty and I had a cup of tea. It was freezing but at least the bloody rain had stopped!
Mr K took Archie back to the car while I went to get myself a BMT on hearty Italian from Subways and then we all met up again at the cinema to watch Hotel Transylvania 3 which was quite funny. A family ticket for £16.80, whoop whoop!!!
When we came back out we retrieved Archie from the car (I was relieved to find him happily snoozing away as it's the longest we'd ever left him in the car) and had a wonderful time on the beach. 
Naturally Miss E progressed from dipping her toes in to running and splashing through the waves and got completely soaked. But she was so happy. See extras.
Luckily we'd put all the towels through the tumble drier at the campsite this morning and picked them up on our way out so they were in the car for the Little Misses to wrap themselves up in before we headed to the harbour for fish and chips. Amazing fish and chips from Bennett's. Miss L was giddy to discover that they did gluten free batter so she could have fish for once like everyone else. Yay!!!
I resisted fish and chips (as I had resisted the ice cream and popcorn) because I'm determined not to eat everything in sight just because we're on holiday!
As they ate the sun came out and the harbour looked glorious. I was looking at Weymouth property prices as they ate and told Mr K we may have to relocate!!!
We headed back to the campsite at about 6pm and found my mum and dad pitched up next to us. 
We had been expecting them, they hadn't just coincidentally turned up out of the blue!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.