Big Hill

By bighill

Finally, i'm home.

Well that was an intense few days!   we drove down to Halifax on the 22nd and had all the pre op stuff done.   a quiet night in the hotel with dinner....and lots of meditation and a few glasses of wine, nothing after midnight!  

Had to be in the hospital around 11 am to get sorted out for surgery at 2pm.....i had such a great team of folks taking care of me, and one of my OR nurses assured me that i had the 'Dreamteam' working on me!   Dr. Alant seems to be very popular .... all the nurses want to be on his surgeries...he was rather handsome for sure!   the 20 or so minutes i had to wait in the OR for the anesthesiologist was highly entertaining.....i guess these people understand how nervous a patient will be so they just do their best to keep your mind of what is about to happen.  I tell you they had me in fits of laughter...we had a lot of banter back and forth....then my favorite phrase from the anesthesiologist as he was preparing to put me under.....he kept saying "Easy, Peasy, Cheesy" , i asked at one point if i was in a 'real' OR or was this a spoof comedy sketch, it was that funny!  not what i was expecting, but i know i played my part in encouraging them...i do have a somewhat macabre sense of humor!!!  surgery took 2 hours and i came out of the anesthetic 'easy, peasy, cheesy'......and spent the night in the hospital.

So now, after being home for 2 1/2 days i already feel about a 60% relief in the pains etc., in my legs......it is absolutely miraculous......still a bit of pins and needles etc., but my balance is restored, my legs aren't nearly as weak and my spirits are 100% better!!!! 

On Saturday my dear friends Sandra, Gavin and their 2 girls arrived .... this had been planned many months ago and i wasn't sure how it was going to be.   but it has been wonderful.....they are staying in the Chalet cabin for 3-4 nights.  i've known these folks for over 20 years and they are very dear and lovely friends, it's been 6 years since we last saw each other.   so there has been lots of good chats and visiting...but i'm still taking it easy and laying down when i feel the need!  my back still feels a bit tender but nothing some tylanol won't sort out.  the incision is only about 1 1/2" ..... pretty amazing!

I have to say that obviously most of the credit goes to the miraculous Dreamteam....those neurosurgeons are unbelievable....but i have a huge amount of gratitude for all my wonderful friends who sent me positive vibes and love during the process.....i know it helped me out so much!  Love is an amazing thing!

In the extras:  Sandra and Gavin this morning by the pond, and Sandra cutting sorting stuff for lunch out on the deck.

I am feeling blessed and happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.