dreaming

By dreaming

A weekend

I had an interesting time at the Library yesterday.  We were short a few tutors and had a large number of students , so each tutor spent just one hour with each one.  My first students were a couple from Iran who are studying for their citizenship test  As I understand it, they've applied but will need to wait about a year before they are accepted.  Then they will take the test, and if that goes well, they will be able to become citizens.  So they are getting a head start on studying for the test, which looks at their ability to speak, read and write in English, as well as their understanding of the fundamentals of American history and government.  I enjoyed my time with them.

Then I worked with Thanh, my Vietnamese student.  Once again, we started with a long list of words together with other words that looked or sounded similar, or which he knew were somehow different but didn't know what the difference is.  That was really challenging, because the distinctions are often so subtle that they're hard to explain. Then we read a newspaper article about Betsy DeVos' idea of federally funding guns for teachers, which he thought was as stupid as I did.

It was back to LaZBoy today, and it went better than I had anticipated.  They did not charge a restocking fee, despite what was written on the receipt, and EW and I tried out several before I settled on one that is very like my old one in style, but much smaller.  It will take about two weeks to get one in the color I prefer (a red called Cherry), and I have to keep the first one in like-new condition until then.  Because the new one is less expensive than the first, the difference covered the delivery charge.

Leaving EW's house after lunch, I spotted this purple flower creeping through the fence that runs along their driveway.  I just liked the way it looked, all alone there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.