Ride Sally Ride!

I loaded the PA, the lights and all those other bits and pieces into the van yesterday afternoon so at 11 am this morning, I just had to drive down to Happy Valley and join the rest of the guys who were setting up. We soon got that sorted and were ready to do the soundcheck by 12. Another party was setting up gazebos in the garden and by 12.30 I was home for another coffee and then lunch.

I went back at two and people were already arriving with their picnics and garden chairs so I put on some recorded music while we waited for start time at 3.30.

Support acts, 'The Teign-Agers', 'Licked by Basil' and 'Charlie and Richard' provided some good entertainment and then a little before six o'clock the 'Bishopsteignton Commitments' took the stage.

We had lots of fun with an appreciative audience and did  a pretty good set with a good rousing finale. I think we left the audience happy and (I hope) without any money left in their wallets and purses. 

I don't know how much money we've raised for Rowcroft Hospice but I think it should be pretty good though maybe not as much as we raised last year. There's certainly something about a bright summer's day to bring an audience to an outdoor gig. The weather stayed dry for us after a very rainy day yesterday and it was warm enough but without the glorious sunshine of last year. 

Here's hoping this is now an annual event and we'll do it all again then. For now though, I'm doing a site visit tomorrow that, hopefully, will lead to our next gig in about six or seven weeks time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.