All in a day's walk

Little Dog hasn't had the hugest of walks over the last few days so we enjoyed a wonderful circuit of the moor.  On coming down, I spotted the puddle of a reservoir that I heard second hand is worryingly low.  Apparently, it’s Yorkshire Water that has installed some temporary plastic pipes in the upper storage reservoir to try to fill it up.  Not a chance! (And it's stopped working!)

We had a sneak through this less than secure fence and Little Dog thought I'd taken her to the beach it was so low  - she was up for a game of ball!

Heading back and reaching the bottom of the moors, I spotted the same sheep that had looked a little odd from a distance on the way up.  I'd concluded it was snoozing and didn't want to approach with the dog at the time.  But I needed to know if it was dead or alive. I tied up pooch and went to investigate.

Poor thing!

It was laying on its side, still alive thankfully, with both of its back legs trapped in the green wire fence of the electricity station.  It was exhausted and breaking through its flesh with the pressure of trying to break free.

Eventually, I managed to get them out, seemingly without distress. But it didn't move.  

What to do?

The only thing was to head over to the farm, a good 10 minutes away, and see if anyone was there.  I woke up all the dogs but couldn't find anybody.

So, what to do now?

Without a phone, I headed back up on the moors, past the sheep still laying there, to see if Michael the moors man was about.  I thought I knew where he lived. Again, I woke up all the dogs but couldn't find anyone home.  Neither of these places had logical places to knock!  I found a possible front door and although nobody was answering, I heard a voice shouting from upstairs asking why all the dogs were barking.  Nobody looked out despite me helloing so off I went around the back again.

Bad timing! I'd just missed someone who'd let one of the dogs out.  She took umbrage at finding Little Dog and promptly charged at her and wouldn't let go of her neck.  I tried sticking a foot in (with little impact) but thankfully, a woman arrived in all the kerfuffle and got it off.  

Anyway, the outcome is...  I was at the right place.  Michael wasn't home but the woman said she would tell him.  And guess what?  I walked back down the moors to find the sheep had gone!

It's been on my mind all evening in case the message didn't get there so I've now phoned the farmer who said he had got the message and had sent someone out to try and find it.  I gave him the update that it had gone and told him about its ankles being badly cut so fingers crossed it'll be OK now.

Little Dog seems to have forgotten all about the attack. She played ball on the park on the way home and I've washed her pink neck where her fur has gone - at least there was no puncture wound and I've taken off her collar so it'll get some air.  Poor little doll!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.