La Vie à Quatre Roues! Jour 6

Saumur, Maine-et-Loire

A second day travelling east, following the Loire river.

First stop of the day was the troglodyte village of Rochemenier. Along with the village museum that shows two troglodyte farmhouses that were in use right up until the 1970s (see extra), every house in the village was in one way or another built into the tufa caves. By chance, we happened to be there on the day of the local village fete so joined the locals for a spot of lunch.

Back on the Loire, we stopped in St Hilaire-St Florent at the Veuve Amicot cellars for a tour of the underground tufa cellars, and a tasting of the local sparkling wine. After five samples I had to give up!

Saumur was our stop for the night, and my main blip shows my view of the Château from our pitch as the sun went down...

But before that, we walked into town and had a wander on a beautiful sunny evening, with the obligatory aperitif of that local sparkling Saumur wine! (see extra). Our route back to camp took us along the river, where the sunset gave me a dilemma as to what to use as my main blip... (See extra)

(Thank you for your kind comments, stars and hearts for my last few blips. Sorry for my absence. If you’re interested, I’ve just added details to yesterday’s journal. A backblip posted on a non-stop Jour 9 from Azay-le-Rideau.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.