CrocusMan

By TonyG

Too slow ...

.... to catch a pic of the Hummingbird Hawk Moth on the Buddleia at Wharf station today.  A wealth of butterflies, Tortoiseshells, Red Admirals, Peacocks and Whites plus this Painted Lady, all feasting in the warm sunshine that followed a wet start to the day.

Our second night camping was more comfortable than the first but we've had the option of a move into the hostel tonight .... and taken it.  We'll review bedding options for tents at home and try again next year :-)

Jamie had a fun day at Abergynolwyn as Station Assistant while I continued the training as booking clerk at Wharf, the main station.  Although we passed a cavalcade of cars heading out of Wales on Monday, there are still plenty of folk about and the trains were busy.  Great practice for me.  I'm up for assessment next time which could mean I can drive the booking office system single handed next year.  Not as much fun as Guarding the trains but it's a job that needs volunteers prepared to do it ... and it's a job my past work life equips me well for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.